Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Solo Flying

Hi Guys,

I was wondering what the Clubs Policy was on Solo Flying, before being granted Bronze Wing Status.

I have been told, rightly or wrongly, that Solo Flying can only be made once Wings were obtained.

There are Clubs around that allow Beginner Pilots Solo Flying once a qualified (???) member has assessed the Pilots Flying ability. Is this the case at our Club?

You must also take into account that on some days the number of Instructors at the field, at one time, is minimal and therefore a new pilot, may over a period of 4-5 hours at the field, only recieve 6-12 minutes, if that. As a newbie I can appreciate that Instructors want to fly themselves, and fully agree. However, at the same time we are forced to go "park flying" just to get some badly needed air time to practice manouevers. This of course poses inherrent risk of interference of people using the parks at the time and of course not being covered by Insurance.

Does the Club ever have "Instructor Days" dedicated to Pre Bronze Wing Pilots, for training Pilots?

Do us newbies get a Flight Book to monitor our progress when being taught by another Instructor whom we have not flown with before?

I am more than happy to be a Member at PRCAC and am very grateful for the help I recieve when asking q's about flying, and my models, and am also happy to take "baby steps" when it comes to flying at McCoy but would appreciate the feedback. Many thanks in advance.

It wouldn't kill me to miss flying for one day, but then again, why risk it.

hi Chris . as a member of the club , not an instructor or committee person . im probably not the right person to reply to this thread . i think your points and questions are a worthy ask though .
the instructors of our club are all very approachable and have a huge interest in flying . trust me , knowing them you are not putting them out asking for assistance .