Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Hobby King 1400mm 6S Rare Bear

I have been admiring this aircraft for some time, so as soon as it arrived in Oz I had to have one.
The aircraft is made of a very hard EPO and is painted purple, all the other colours are ultra thin water decals. A number of people have rubbished this covering but apart from it being susceptible to hanger rash I am very impressed with the finish.
The included hardware is very good quality and all the fasteners come in individually marked bags which makes construction a breeze.
Assembly of the aircraft is an absolute breeze, the quality of the fit up is the best I've see from HK, all the components fit together beautifully and even though I am a very fussy builder and used epoxy on the main wing spar, it only took me 5 hours from opening the box to having it ready for maiden flight.
All the control surfaces pivot on pin hinges and come pre installed. I gave them all a good tug to check they had been glued properly and they are well installed.
The electronics bay is big enough to hide a small army and I have a 6S 5000 25C battery installed as far forward as it goes to get the C of G just right on the complete model. The electronics package comes with Y leads to connect everything, there is an extra little servo just in front of the rear wheel for steering, it was pre installed and had the servo wires on the outside of the arm which was over controlling the rear steering to almost 90 degrees so I repositioned the wires on the arm to the holes closest to the centre, now I am getting 30 degrees steering which is much better.
The whole aircaft is held together by 5 screws so if you really wanted to throw it together you could have it done in 2 hours, including trimming.
The only let down was that the flaps servos (Yes.. it comes with flaps)were installed one spine missaligned either side of centre... but that was easy to work around.