Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Beginner in this sport

Hey Guys,

I'm just a total beginner in this sport.

Just wondering if you can guys can help me.

Im just thinking of taking up this sport and I would like to buy a RC helicopter. Do you guys reckon flying planes or helicopters is easier.

Could you guys recommend me a plane for a beginner because probably I'll crash it all the timeSmile

Hi,

Im only the tiniest bit ahead of you in starting out, but Im going planes not helis.

The advice I got (and I suspect will be repeated) is to start with a computer sim. If you havent had any experience at all, going to ebay and spending about $40 on a sim package such as Skyartec for helis or FMS for planes will help you learn if you want to do it a bit more, and save you heaps of time and money from fixing practice crashes.

If you are pretty to very sure about taking up the hobby, I would suggest the same (buy a sim) but get a pricier one such as Phoenix and a "real" controller (the $40 special is a computer trainer only). Others will suggest more about radio types etc I am sure.

Ben.

Hi Pat,

welcome to the hobby, and to this forum.
Firstly, you will find everyone here, and at our club are friendly, and more than willing to offer help and advice.

I started with a/c about 30 yrs ago & left the hobby for about 15 years. i started up again 2 yrs ago with helis. They are definately harder to fly than fixed wing! Smile Having said that however, they are not impossible, they just take longer to learn. I started with a Blade 400 (now they are the Blade 450) AND.....as Ben said, a Simulator. That will save you ,ooo's of $$$$ Smile

Come down to the field one weekend to meet the guys, have a chat & get a feel for the environment.

Handing over to the rest of the guys.....

Cheers,

Andrew.

3 Useless things for a Pilot:
Air above you, Air in the tanks, Runway behind you.

EFLIGHT Blade 400, Inside a Jet Ranger Fuse
HK 500GT, Inside an EC-135 Fuse
ALIGN Trex 600