Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Need help with a Blade 400

Hi all,

I have a blade 400 which I am completely new with.

Yesterday, I was having a go. Just trying to get off the ground.
As this was happening it tipped to one side and the rotors dug into the ground.

Since then, when spinning the rotors up the whole body of the heli shakes!

Have had a look around the heli and nothing appears broken.
Tested all the flight controls and everything appears to work there too.

Am thinking that the rotors maybe off balance?
If I pitch the rotors (with t.hold on) it looks as if the pitch of one blade is more than the pitch on the other.

Jut wondering if you guys thin the shaking could be because of this or is there any other reasons?

Thanks in advance,

Andee

I'm no heli expert, but i'd say you have bent either the feathering shaft or the main shaft.

Heres a good web site that should help.

http://www.slyster.com/heli/b400bible.html

Dynam Pitts 12 EPO
Eflite Advance 25e
HK P-51D Mustang
3D Reaktor
Pitts Python S12 EP 54inch EPO
Kinetic 800

Decathlon EP 62.6inch
Stinger 64 EDF
Spektrum DX6i (mode 1)

You have definitely bent, at least, the feathering shaft (the shaft between the two main rotor grips). They don't survive tip strikes like the one you had. I'd also suggest the main shaft is bent too. Please don't fly the heli until you've replaced the bent bits. It will crash again but perhaps worse than already. Also check your blades to see if there is any damage. Sometime you can get small cracks near the blade root if if the strike was decent.

Remove both shafts and roll them on a hard flat surface like a glass table. If they have the slightest bend, they can't be used. You'll need to replace them. Learning to repair helis is part of the fun Smile . Post back if you need to.