Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

SK450 Quadcopter

These things are rather interesting machines!!

I'm really new to quad copters and have just been tinkering around with HK's ARF kit version of the SK450. It's the first reasonable sized one I've ever flown. The only other experience I've had flying quads is with tiny indoor models with pokey little radio sets that they are shipped with.

This is an entirely different beast

It comes with everything almost ready to go just bind a receiver, set up your radio and it flies pretty much straight out of the box. I was impressed!!

But a few modifications are always fun and it's interesting to see if few improvements can be made, but first a bit about my radio set up.

I reckon a handy thing to have on any model is telemetry, mainly so I can have an idea of the condition of my flight pack.
Apparently there's no gliding a or autorotation possible with a quad copter. Fortunately I have a Taranis radio which works really well for this!! It does take a reasonable bit of setting up as far as programming the radio is concerned, but it has facility in spades to make flying a lot easier and can be set up nicely to let you know what’s going on.

This is how I've set it up. When the radio first turns on It checks that all the switches are forward and the throttle is at minimum, this is the default condition and I didn't change it because I quite like this feature.

Then it says the name of the model "SK450 Quad copter 01"
After that it announces the lipo pack voltage "x.xx volts" so you know if your starting with a fresh pack. Then it announces the status of the auto stabilisation. "Stabilisation off" then after every time the stabilisation status is changed